Belgium, Russia and Belarus all in the race for the 2015 addition of the EU Champions Cup

This past week as the EU Champions Cup was taking place in both Hoopfdorp, Holland and Brno, Czech Republic, so was the 2015 qualifying tournament that featured a field of 19 clubs that represented 12 different countries (Croatia, Austria, Sweden, Belgium, Romania, Bulgaria, Greece, Russia, Slovakia, Lithuania, Poland and Switzerland – Bulgaria, Russia, Lithuania and Switzerland all had two teams each in the tournament). The qualifying tournament was split into four sites of which included Antwerp – Belgium, Athens – Greece, Brest – Belarus, and Stockholm – Sweden.

In the Antwerp tournament that featured the Brasschaat Braves (BEL), Leksand Baseball (SWE), Zuerich Challengers (SUI), Nada Split (CRO), and Vienna Wanderers (AUT), it was the Brasschaat Braves that took the tournament with an 8 to 3 win in the decisive game on Saturday the 21st over the Leksand Baseball club.

ANTWERP – Belgium Tournament

In the Athens tournament the Russian club, Olympic Sport School 42 took the tournament over the Sofia Blues (BUL) with a 4-0 finals victory. This tournament played host to the Olympic Sport School 42 (RUS), the Sofia Blues (BUL), the BC Olimpija 83 (CRO), the Maroussi 2004 (GRE), and the Atletico Alexandria (ROM).

ATHENS – Greece Tournament

In the Brest tournament where the host club, the Brest Zurbs (BLR) took the tournament with a 9 to 3 win over Vienna Metrostars (AUT). The other clubs that made up this group of five included Kaunas Lituanica (LTU), Centaury Warsaw (POL), and the BK Angels Trnava (SVK).

BREST – Belarus Tournament

Finally in Stockholm, Sweden the North Star Moscow (RUS) took the tournament with a 4-3 win over the host club, Stockholm BSK (SWE). The final standings of this group of four finished with the North Star Moscow (RUS) on top, followed by Stockholm BSK (SWE), Vilnius BC (LTU), and Bern Cardinals (SUI).

STOCKHOLM – Sweden Tournament

The four clubs that finished in first in each of their respective tournaments will now faceoff with the Czech team KNTU who finished in last in the Hoopfdorp tournament, and the Kotlark out of Prague who finished at the bottom of the Brno tournament. The top two of this next round will earn the right to play in the 2015 EU Champions Cup along side Italy, Holland, France, Germany (all with 2 teams each), San Marino and the Czech Republic.

The 2014 EU Champions Cup finals will take place later this summer with a matchup that will feature T&A San Marino (winners of the Hoopfdorp tournament) and the Rimini Pirates (winners of the Brno tournament) in a best of three finals.